Ballyhoura Development are encouraging local groups to learn more about the suite of Town Centre First Measures available to support local town and village revitalisation.
The Town Centre First Policy is a cross-government policy that aims to tackle vacancy, combat dereliction, and breathe new life into town centres. It advocates for a holistic, place-based approach to sustainable rural development.
The Department launched a new Town Centre First Suite of Supports in February 2024 that will support the following measures:

  1. Town Team Support Fund: Funding of up to €10,000 each for three towns to support the establishment and/or development of town teams where they are not already well established.
  2. Town Centre First Plan: Funding of €30,000 will be available to support the development of a plan in a rural town.
  3. Project Development Measure: This measure will assist Local Authorities to contribute to a pipeline of significant, well developed projects by providing funding of €50,000 each to support two projects, with an additional third €50,000 application available for the Region in Transition: North-West Counties.

Currently, Limerick City and County Council is now seeking Expressions of Interest (EOI) from town/village community groups and/or business interests who may have suitable projects for consideration under the Project Development Measure of Town Centre First.  Two proposals can be selected for progression to application stage with grant funding of up €50,000 available per application, if successful.
Full details of the Project Development Measure, “Our Rural Future – Ireland’s Rural Development Policy 2021-2025” and “Town Centre First - A Policy Approach for Irish Towns”  can be accessed via below link:

Expressions of interest can now be submitted online via the following link:

Expression of Interest

The closing date for completion of EOIs is 12 noon, Friday 22 March 2024.  

Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact Limerick City and County Council at [email protected] or by phone on 061-557367 or 061-557117.