Ballyhoura, also referred to as the Ballyhoura region or Ballyhoura country, covers the area of east Co Limerick and North Co Cork.  It is bordered by Limerick city to the north, by Co Tipperary to the east, and covers the area of North Cork which includes Mitchelstown, Doneraile and Kildorrery, and Charleville, Milford, Dromina and Liscarroll. 

Ballyhoura country takes its name from the Ballyhoura Mountains, in the south of the area, which run east and west for about 6 miles on the borders of both counties.