The 29th Annual Ballyhoura Country Tidy Town Awards took place in the Deebert House Hotel in Kilmallock on September 8th 2022, with a great crowd in attendance. 

The Ballyhoura Tidy Towns Awards are an annual Awards Event that celebrate the huge voluntary effort and dedication of all the Tidy Towns Groups, and over 80 community members attended the event to represent their groups.

The evening kicked off with an inspirational and engaging presentation from Cormac McCarthy, Chair of Ennis Tidy Towns, on how Tidy Towns Groups across the country are leading the way in encouraging communities to promote and foster biodiversity and sustainability in their local communities.  Closer to home, Margaret O’Sullivan from Deebert House Hotel highlighted the sustainability features of the Hotel and outlined her plan to see the hotel become carbon neutral. 

The evening also saw a short walkabout in Kilmallock to view some of the projects which Kilmallock Tidy Towns Group has worked on and which complement Kilmallock's medieval past.

This year’s winners in the 3 categories were:

Overall Development Approach:

Milford Tidy Towns Group & Newtownshandrum Tidy Towns Group

Wildlife, Landscaping and Built Environment:

Glenroe Tidy Towns Group & Charleville Tidy Towns Group

Tidiness, Litter Control, Sustainable Waste and Resource Management, and Housing Areas:

Caherconlish Tidy Towns Group & Galbally Tidy Towns Group

Well done to all the winners!!

This year’s Tidy Towns Awards was supported by Limerick City & County Council and kindly hosted by Kilmallock Tidy Towns Group.